As much as it pains me to say this, this weekend I watched Eclipse from the Twilight Saga. I’m guilty of indulging in preteen delusions for an evening and although I would never call it a “good” movie I did sort of enjoy it. For those of you who are not pre-pubescent teeny-boppers, I’ll fill you in on the premise. The two main characters Bella and Edward are madly in love and the twist (which has sparked a blood sucking pop culture phenomenon) is that Edward is a Vampire. He has converted to vampire-vegetarianism, meaning that he doesn’t drink human blood. I know it could potentially be intriguing, except the plots are stereotypical and the characters are difficult to connect with/ I never felt like I got to know them.
I didn’t write this to slander Stephanie Meyer’s work. What intrigued me enough to write this entry is that Edward is able to read everyone’s thoughts but Bella’s. An intriguing talent and the question that is left in my mind is what if none of our thoughts remained private anymore? If telepathy was a global gift that everyone possessed what type of world would it be? People try desperately to cover up embarrassing or dark secrets from their past in order to save face. But what if everyone new everyones’ secrets? It may cause more conflict or perhaps we would be more accepting. From what little life experience I have to draw on I am able to conclude that those who are honest and blunt, without being too rude tend to be the most peaceful and happy.
Although the fact that Bella is immune to this is what brings the two lovers together, one would expect it to add a layer of secretiveness to their relationship. So it leaves them with the issue of communication. In reality we are forced to deal with this issue too. There will always be a time and a place to speak your mind but no true relationship will work if you cannot communicate and trust each other. Perhaps that is why you’ll only find a relationship like Bella and Edward’s in a fictional book, they don’t open up about things very easily to each other, we never know about their past in any detail and they hardly ever laugh and joke.

~ by leona52 on January 10, 2011.

One Response to “”

  1. I hereby *like* this. Without pressing the button, because that’s lame. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
